67. the one with my routine

when Husband was off work for a couple of days, i realised how much i cannot function if i don’t stick to my normal work day routine.

i don’t work every day (though usually i do. just because i love it, plus it makes the voices in my head shut up), and sometimes i work on a weekend day (and pretend i’ll take a day off in lieu during the week).
it doesn’t bother me which days i work, but if the plan for that day is sewing then sewing is what i have to do.

i know i’m obsessive, but my day literally falls apart if i can’t do what i want follow my usual schedule.

working from home requires structure & discipline, and it’s very glamorous so i thought i’d tell you all about my day(s).

1. no matter what time i set my alarm clock, anakin will wake me up an hour earlier than that.
alarm clock

by going, “mmmmmMMMMMMmmmmmmm” whilst leering over me.
“5 more minutes, collie dog!” buys me 5 more minutes, but then it’s a more persistent
“mmMMMMMMMMMMMmmmmmmm-RAH!” and she stands over me, pawing at my face.

time to get up.

2. i boil the computer & the kettle on my way out for a ciggie, and then settle down with tea to do admin things, such as facebook and stalking.

admin

i also try to answer messages, emails & address labels for orders that’ve come in overnight but it goes various amounts of badly depending on how sleepy i am.

3. after i’m washed ‘n dressed (i use the term ‘dressed’ very loosely – it’s a version of pyjamas but with a bra) housework is next.
yesterday i accidently left out the bra part, and *for shame* i bumped into my neighbour while i was in the front garden – she was all perfumey and dressed up proper, and i was asylum hair, sock-ed feet, fag in mouth, dumping an armful of beer bottles into the recycling bin.
i will try harder to remember about a bra in future.

4. coffee time!
this is the best bit of the day – entering my beautiful, clean, well ordered workspace and figuring out what i’m going to make that day.

work

at this point it’s not even lunch time so i know i have many wonderful uninterrupted sewing hours of creativity ahead of me and…

“mmmmMMMMMMMMMRAH! rrRRRRAH!”
“what’s up, anakin?”

*go back downstairs*

she’s alerting me to the fact the washing machine cycle’s finished and it’s time to hang stuff out on the line. (she wouldn’t actually care, except she gets to carry the peg bag out for me which means a REWARD)

housework
helper collie / anticipation of biscuits.

5. i finally get to start work.
sewing bums

i had some zombies that just needed sewing, turning, stuffing & stitching so i thought i’d get them finished off first. stuffing & handstitching is good on the days when i’m enjoying whatever dvd series i’m currently working through. it’s the gilmore girls at the moment.

the last 2 episodes of season 3 look like this
zombies

miniature zombies are slow going but satisf…

“mmmmMMMMMMMMMRAH! rrRRRRAH!
mmmmMMMMMMMMMRAH! mmmmMMMMMMMMMRAH! rrRRRRAH!”
lunchtime.

6. i usually work through lunch, catching up on more of my very important small business related stuff
more admin

7. and then it’s back to the gilmore girls work until Husband comes home.
yesterday, i spent all afternoon cutting out hundreds of body parts for future zombies, but i overdid it, kinda.

11

once i’ve told Husband about my day, i usually go back up and do a bit more work, or important computer things, but yesterday, too much tiny & too much hunched over = migraine. so i stopped work early and we watched tom hardy films until bedtime.

normally, every day is similar to that ^
but today i slept until 10 and i’ve done nothing at all – i didn’t even bother getting dressed – Husband is due in from work, so i’d better go and select a tom hardy dvd for us to watch this evening. structure & discipline.
^ *achievement*

17 thoughts on “67. the one with my routine

      • Despite having two human (so they claim, but I think it could be otherwise) children, I am still unsure of their purpose. Annoying is definitely a BIG part of it, but definitely not 100% adorable faces. We haven’t got there yet, but just think of those teenage spots!! Hmmmm, think an Anakin might be preferable ;)

  1. Yes, you should never underestimate the importance of having structure & discipline to your life – especially when you work from home. Anakin clearly understands this too. I’m impressed that you have set times of day for your Important Computer-related Jobs – clearly you are very organised about this…
    I’m impressed with how series 2 of the Gilmore Girls has turned out. Didn’t know you could get that on DVD – oobviously my work schedule isn’t as organised as yours.
    Do you think Anakin would come & help me organise my timetable too (I also have a peg bag. And a washing mashin)?

    Hope the migraine is better now, so you can get back to All of the Important Sewing. Maybe try to avoid the Tiny for a day or two?

    • i know! i’ve learnt so much FACTS about tom hardy<3 whilst simultaneously writing totally professional sounding emails to customers.

      anakin LOVES to do the jobs. she's very good at bringing laundry down 3 flights of stairs and dumping it in the kitchen. you have to be quick though, giving the "in the machine" command, or you're likely to find random dirty socks out in the garden!

      much better today thankyou. now do excuse me, i'm doing some very important computer work over on tumblr… ;)

  2. ” i was asylum hair, sock-ed feet”…I am confused, is this unacceptable attire when there are no plans to leave the house/garden area? And well done you for wearing a bra with your pyjama outfits!! I might try that one, I do hate the hunched hidden boob stance when you accidentally have to communicate with people on those days.

    • i know! i thought it was very inconsiderate of her to leave her house at that very moment, jesse! if she’d just let me know in writing, giving 3 days notice, i could’ve washed my hair at least. possibly.

      • some people are just cruel and judgemental. I think she did it deliberately to make you feel bad so she could feel better about herself. She stinks of cheap shampoo anyway

  3. Braless pyjamas check
    beer bottles check
    dog check
    computer admin check
    *Proper* peg back!!!! No definitely not, somewhat stained ripped old shopping bag – yes
    Annis is now insisting I make a proper peg bag so she can train Ash, so no work for me today!

    • oh yeah, you got’s to have a proper peg bag! it must have a zip (so they don’t dump pegs all the way up the path on their way to the line) and it’s got to have short handles so they don’t drag & trip while they’re doing their important work!

      you should definately make that a priority for today!

    • oh Mom, i thought i’d done so well today! i had a bath & put on fresh day-clothes… but i hadn’t even made it to the hairdryer before it all went to pot.

      i hope, at least, the postman noted that i was FULLY DRESSED when he delivered all of my tom hardy dvds this morning

  4. I am so sorry for your asylum hair.
    I feel totally responsible for making everything go to pot.
    The very next time I decide to ‘surprise’ call you on the tellingphone, I shall give you at least a months notice. In writing. In triplicate.
    You did very well though. Considering!

    • at least you were witness to the postman congratulating me on my Getting Dressed triumph.
      don’t worry about the asylum hair – i can simply wash it again some time in the next month or 2.

      ps i love you <3

Leave a Reply

