45. the one with all of the treasures

i’ve been way too busy to blog lately. seriously.
which is just bloody ridiculous when you consider that my usual daily routine consists of watching ‘the gilmore girls’, or listening to emo records while i play with my toys.
most of the time i don’t even bother getting dressed (winter time-saver).

but suddenly, somehow, i’m in the weird situation of being manic busy ALL THE TIME; squeezing housewifery in before a full day of sewing and internetting. getting up earlier ‘n earlier to do emails and admin before breakfast, and staying up later’n later to edit photos & listings of things for sale in my shop. plus lately, other obligations and outings that require DAY CLOTHES. *outrageous*
really, it’s a wonder i manage to fit in 4 hours of ‘fringe’ every night.

yes, yes, whatever. other grown women probably do this stuff, and more, with ease. but i’m just. not. like that.
i’m more about doing whatever i daily please, on a whim. and if that means means losing a week (or 6 months* <— that only happened once, honest) to magical xbox time then so be it.

the wonderful thing about being sew busy (haha) is that my paypal is was full up. so after paying for the roof i thought i’d splash out, treat myself to some nice things as a reward. here, let me show you:

i bought these beautiful ink & watercolour landscape ACEOs off the amazing siansburys

one day soon they will be framed, and then i’ll hang all of my original artworks.
FutureMe will have made a decision about where to drill for picture hooks.

this gorgeous luxury scarf ‘n brooch is from rebel rose. this chick has a serious eye for colour. and quality – so sofffft <3

merino wool brooch

i can’t possibly wear these lovelies with my old brown parka though!
one day soon i will start wearing my Good Coat.
FutureMe will dress like a classy grown up woman.

one of the biggest inspirations / influences on my work, right, were the british girls comics i grew up reading in the late ’70s / early ’80s (before they ruined everything with lame romantic photo stories in the mid-80’s). all i ever wanted to be was an illustrator for one of these titles. so imagine my joy when i saw these on ebay

‘the cat’ was one of my favourites – a school girl with a secret identity working for the french resistance during world war 2 *exciting* :D
and ‘rosie at thorndale hall’ was by one of my favourite illustrators.

i actually owned this once before – i remember exactly when & where i was when i bought it. but my copy got thrown out (along with nearly 10 years of sequential bundles of the weekly bunty comic. gargh) when we left south africa in ’94.
i threw them out because i was 20-something back then and on the verge of becoming a grown up. haha